Take Two

Hello again, friends!  I hope that you are all having a marvelous Monday morning.  I can’t really complain about mine, other than I wish I were still sleeping (don’t we all?).

 As you may (or may not) know, I found out on June 2 that we are expecting our second baby, which puts me at 6 weeks and 3 days pregnant today.  I wish that I honestly say that I’m not nervous about this pregnancy, adding to our family, whatever, but I am.  I had my blood work done about two weeks ago (and pregnancy confirmed!) and my OB called me last Monday with the news that my thyroid levels are still a bit low, but not much, which is really good.  For those of you who don’t know, I have Grave’s Disease, which affects my thyroid.  about two and a half years ago, I had a localized radiation treatment done that killed off my thyroid.  It’s still inside of me, it is just like an abandoned factory.  Anyway, good news on the TSH level thing! Bad news:  I apparently have become severely anemic.  My OB put me on a prescription iron pill once a day for a week, then switching to twice a day.  Hopefully this will help fix the anemia, but my doctor said that there was a good chance that I would have to have a blood transfusion towards the end of my pregnancy.  But no worries, right? Wrong. When I was pregnant with my son, I had just about every symptom in the book: fatigue, nausea, dizziness, moodiness, sore breasts, etc. for the first 10 weeks.  With this baby, I have had no nausea.  I have noticed that I am about a million times more tired than my first pregnancy, and I am a lot more moody.  I thought that since I have already been pregnant, I would know what to expect.  Wrong.  They say every pregnancy is different, but I didn’t expect such a radical difference between the two!  I also have already had to make the switch to stretchy pants and looser tops.  I don’t know if there’s more than one in there, or if it’s just all bloat, but I have already started showing.  I look like I did when I was probably 14-15 weeks with my son.  I was counting on having at least a few more weeks before having to do the rubber band trick, but I’ve already passed that stage!

I go next Monday, June 30, to see my OB for my first appointment.  Hopefully, we will be able to schedule the first ultrasound for sometime the next week or so.  I am so ready to see my little jellybean for the first time.  I know once I see the baby, my nerves will calm down and I will be able to relax and enjoy the pregnancy more.  I will be sure to update (with pictures!) soon, but until then, take care and God bless!

20140624-081720-29840849.jpg

20140624-081719-29839329.jpg

Leave a Reply

