I think I can…I think I can…The Little Mommy Who Could

Hello again, friends! I hope that all of you are doing well!

Wednesday, Mikey and I went over to my friend Alicia’s house to help babysit. We had two 2 year olds, an 18 month old, and a newborn. When I first held baby Laylah, I was a little overwhelmed, just because it has been a while since I have cared for a newborn. Don’t worry, everything came back to me, just like riding a bike. Mikey did very good around the baby, which gives me hope that maybe, just maybe, he won’t be quite so jealous when our new bundle of joy arrives in February. Babysitting showed me that I can handle a two year old and a newborn at the same time. It’s going to be difficult at first, but it’s not as scary to think about anymore. My new mantra is going to be, “I think I can. I think I can.”

All day Wednesday, my stomach was sore and achy, so by that afternoon, I called my doctor’s nurse to see if I needed to come in or not. Since I wasn’t in severe pain or bleeding, they decided to see me the next day. Of course, I couldn’t help but to wonder if something was wrong with the baby. Thursday morning, after I dropped Mikey off with Nanny so that I could go to the doctor, I picked up my friend Alicia and we headed over to the office. We were very happy to hear that they didn’t think that anything was wrong with the baby, and it was just baby stretching out and making room and causing my ligaments to stretch. We also got to hear the heartbeat, which was 160 bpm! Alicia looked at me after the doctor had left the room and said, “That sounds like a girl’s heartbeat! It’s so fast!” I have had a feeling all along that this one will be a little girl, but we still have a few weeks before we find out, seeing as how I’m only 11 weeks along. These are going to be the longest next few weeks ever!

Mark and I have decided that instead of just announcing the gender on Facebook like we did last time, we are going to host a gender reveal party! I am super excited about it and I can’t wait until we can schedule the ultrasound so that I know when I can set the date for the party!!

Until next time, take care and may God bless you all!

Leave a Reply

