Weekend Revelations

This weekend, I got something that I normally do not ever get. I got the entire weekend (Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon) to myself. I went with a group of ladies from my church to the Ladies’ retreat. We went up to Burnt Cabins at Lake Tenkiller and had a very fun, uplifting weekend.

I went last year, too, and left Mikey for pretty much the first time ever overnight. My husband was nervous last year at being at home with the baby by himself for the weekend, but he did fine. I had a hard time leaving my son last year, but it all turned out okay. Mark did call me several times asking for help, but he soon figured it out. This year, however, I left Mikey with Nanny at around 11:00AM so that I could go finish getting the things I needed for the trip before we left at noon. I had a harder time leaving him this year, I suppose because I am 26 weeks pregnant and hormonal. My mother-in-law, Judy, picked up Mikey Friday afternoon after she got off work and kept him that night because Mark had to work Saturday until noon. I never heard anything from anyone after I dropped him off, so I assumed that everything was okay. Saturday morning, I woke up and started my day. We had breakfast, had Bible lessons and devotionals, and finally around 3:00pm, I called my husband to check on him and my son, because I still had not had any text messages or phone calls. Everything was fine and I got to talk to Mikey on the phone briefly. He was telling me about horses and cars (my in-laws took him to the Veteran’s Day parade earlier that day) and then I asked him how he was and if he missed Mommy, and he told me to “hush.” Mark got back on the phone and said that they were watching the NASCAR race, and he hadn’t cried or whined for me at all, all weekend.

As happy as this makes me (my son is very clingy with me usually), it also makes me incredibly sad. My little baby is growing up and is getting so much more independent and doesn’t need his Mommy around all the time. I must say, I was not prepared for this. I am very glad that he is gaining his independence and is happy without me around 24/7, but I’m just not used to not being his primary caretaker and getting all of his attention. Again, I know this is probably just me being hormonal and pregnant.

Speaking of being pregnant, my best friend finally announced it at church, so I can officially say something now! Our friends, Chris and Alicia, are expecting their second baby!! They had a miscarriage several weeks ago, and conceived again right away. They were waiting to say anything until they saw the doctor and had an ultrasound. Now, she is 9 weeks and 3 days, and she is due June 12, 2015! This puts her EXACTLY 17 weeks behind me!!! I am so thankful that they were able to get pregnant again so quickly and that the pregnancy is healthy and going well so far!

Leave a Reply

