No T.A.R.D.I.S. Needed

When I was younger, I wanted nothing more than to grow up.  It seemed as though time drug by sluggishly.  The older I get, however, the quicker time seems to speed by me.  I wish now that I could slow things down and have more time to enjoy things.  I wake up early, and before I know it, there is only 30 minutes before my husband gets home from work. Then it’s dinner, bathtime, cuddles, and bedtime.  Hours quickly turn into days, days into weeks, weeks into months, and months into years.  I blink my eyes and it’s a different life.

I recently have started watching Doctor Who (the newer version) and I find it amazing that the T.A.R.D.I.S. (Time and Relative Dimensions in Space) can transport you anywhere, at any time. You could, if you pleased, go back to when Earth was created.  You could also venture into the future and see the Earth being destroyed.  I have often wondered where and when I would go in time if I could.  Would I go back to the 1920’s and see my grandparents meet, fall in love, and get married?  Would I go back into Biblical times to see firsthand the stories that are talked about in the Bible? Dare I travel into my future, to see what fate awaits me?  I have come to the conclusion that I am perfectly happy here, in the present.

I don’t need a time machine to go back to my past, or see the future.  I have kids.  I often find myself travelling to yesteryear while playing with my oldest son.  I am reminded of the many times my parents played with me.  I am reminded of the wonderful memories we shared.  I hope that I can make wonderful memories for my kids to look back on with nostalgia when they become parents one day.  As for the future? Again, I need only to look at my children.  I don’t know for certain what the future holds for them other than that I know that they will always be loved.  Even long after I am gone, I will still love my babies.  I hope that they will know that.  Our children are the future.  Right now, they are small, they are still learning.  Right now, their imaginations rule their lives.  Right now, they haven’t been broken by the world and it’s infinite “no’s” and “you can’t’s”.  Right now, they are full of wonder and awe and unlimited possibilities.  My sons could become doctors or astronauts.  They could find the cure to cancer, to Alzheimer’s, to other horrible diseases.  They could be famous politicians or athletes. They could become CEOs or be great inventors.  They could become fathers one day, and lead a simple life.  They could, through their hard work and love, inspire others, including their children.

You see, when you have kids, you can simultaneously live in the past, present, and the future.  No T.A.R.D.I.S. needed.

Leave a Reply

